Posted in Tutorials

DIY Handbag Tutorials

Last week, I posted a basic picture tutorial detailing how to make a zippered pouch.  Hopefully many find it easy to follow and can use it as a stepping stone to make your own accessories, if you are new to sewing.  IMG_5034

I have been making bags for several years.  I have made many different styles and shipped them all over the world.  One of my more popular ones is my crossbody bag.  Some refer to the style as a messenger bag, but since mine is on a smaller scale, I use crossbody.

goldbrownhandbag2

Over the years, I have used many different fabric combinations to make this bag.  Since I am a fiend for fabrics, I enjoy putting together different combinations.

Collages18

I actually have one more bag in this style left in my Etsy shop.  It is the sole survivor of this long line of bags.

Like many who sell handmade items, the challenge of space and inventory on the business side of selling, can make it difficult to keep this line in production, even though I really, really like this bag.

So, instead of stocking inventory of this adorable bag, I have included it in my handbag pattern offerings on my website.  It is written in a similar style to the tutorial that I posted here, but with more graphics to lead you through each step.  You can download it and have fun making your very own bag.

Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 11.31.14 AM

I know there are so many others who are as into fabrics as I am.  If you make this bag, please share your photos with me.  I’d love to see what you make!  You can find me on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram!

Happy Sewing

 

Author:

My business is Crooked Smile Creations. It's located at www.crookedsmilecreation.etsy.com

Leave a Reply

