Posted in Bloggity Blog

Crooked Smile Creations for Lyfe

If you’ve been in and around the handmade world for long enough, and ventured to learn some of the behind the scenes details, you will hear LOTS of ideas being thrown around.  Some are good(ish) and others, not so muchoffice-620817_1920.  As I wrote in a previous post, you have to do what is best for your own business, life, and mind.  One of the areas that seems to be a big deal, is branding.  Branding is how your business is known, from the name of your shop, all the way to the colors, packaging, and ‘feel’ of your business, and that’s before your product is even considered.

You’ll understand what I mean if you consider how you feel walking into a Starbucks, or Home Depot.  If you feel fresh, young, hip and popular when you walk into a Starbucks, then you have been influenced by their branding.  If you were to go back in time and ask someone in the 1960’s to pay $4.00 for a cup of coffee at Starbucks, they would have laughed at you, and asked, “What’s a Starbucks?”  The business and brand have been meticulously developed and marketed for their targeted customer.

coffee-1281880_1920

When I began this little handmade journey, the first challenge I had was the business name.  Naming a business is like naming your child.  So many questions and considerations pop into your mind.  The idea came to me late at night, as most of my ideas tend to do.  I wanted it to reflect me, and I knew that the name, Crooked Smile Creations, was it.

grin-303704_1280For whatever reason, my smile, and I suppose my whole face is a bit lopsided.  Some have been so gracious as to point it out to me it in my life and I was always self-conscious of it in my younger years.  Now, I’m a bit older, a tad wiser, and considerably more apathetic to people’s opinions of me.  In short, it doesn’t bother me.

So, what better name could there be?  The very thing that induced such horror in me is now going before me to broadcast the products I’ve designed and made with my own two hands (and make a little money if possible).  It’s perfect, and I think it’s just grand.

Why explain this now?  Well, it’s a New(ish) Year, and I am doing some branding changes.  Oh, I’m not changing the name.  Oh Heck No.  I’m simply redesigning my signage.

shopicon

My crooked smile is as much a part of me as my own breath, and will be for all my days.

Author:

My business is Crooked Smile Creations. It's located at www.crookedsmilecreation.etsy.com

Leave a Reply

